WA Webcams and weather

Just joined & all I got is this lousy rank
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:59 pm

WA Webcams and weather

Postby southfreo » Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:11 pm

Hi there,

Just thought I start a new topic for posting links to local weather sites in Perth and their web cams. If this is not the correct place to post please let me know.

I've just finished my site http://www.southfreo.com which has live weather observations and a hi-resolution camera mounted on the roof. It create 24 hour time lapse videos and the previous 2 hours (slightly slowed down).

Regards

Kevin

WAWG Leadership Group
User avatar
Posts: 2724
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Donnybrook

Postby silvercloud » Wed Aug 15, 2007 5:14 pm

Hi and welcome to the forum Kevin. Your site looks good. :D

Founder of The WAWG
User avatar
Posts: 3330
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand

Postby Tim S » Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:33 pm

great site that Kevin, that high res timelapse is a beauty, will be great to watch a cold front or summer storms on, how long have you had it running for? what kind of weather station you got?

oh yeah, welcome to the forums! :)
Kia Kaha, stay strong, live long and above all have fun. :)

Just joined & all I got is this lousy rank
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:59 pm

Postby southfreo » Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:24 pm

Thanks for the positive feedback. Yes I'm hoping to capture some great shots over time with the setup. The weather station is a dallas 1-wire setup with a Rainwise rainguage connected to a laptop running Weather Display. The Camera is an Olympus SP-350 which has been setup for about a month but only this week have I managed to get the Hi-res video working the way I wanted.

Founder of The WAWG
User avatar
Posts: 3330
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand

Postby Tim S » Fri Aug 17, 2007 11:48 am

Another guy on the forum Chaser80 aka Tommo also has a Dallas 1 wire set-up, heres a link a recent thread about his station: http://www.waweathergroup.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=230
Kia Kaha, stay strong, live long and above all have fun. :)

Just joined & all I got is this lousy rank
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:59 pm

Postby southfreo » Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:10 pm

Great to see some other dallas 1-wire sites in Perth, now we just need more site hooking up their cameras and webcams so we can track the skys over 24hrs!

WAWG Leadership Group
User avatar
Posts: 863
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Floreat

Postby Tom M (Chaser 80) » Sun Aug 19, 2007 5:12 pm

Hey SF, as Tim said Im running the same setup as u pretty much. did u buy it for hobby boards? I will send some pics of mine if u like?

data here from my station.... www.tkup.net/data and WDL here www.tkup.net/liveweather

Just joined & all I got is this lousy rank
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:59 pm

Postby southfreo » Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:55 pm

Hey Chaser80,

Thanks for posting on my forums. I bought the raingauge from Hobby boards but the wind/dir and indoor stuff from AAG.

Be great to see some photos (Always good to have a nosy). Whilst your online. I'm a bit suspect of the speed/dir I'm getting.

In Weather Display, under control panel Station type, what is the pole setting your 1-wire is set to? Mine is version 3, 1 pole windspeed. Also do you have any offsets in the direction. When I look at this view http://www.wunderground.com/stationmaps ... &wmo=95605 Sometimes the direction looks contrary to other local sites.

WAWG Leadership Group
User avatar
Posts: 863
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Floreat

Postby Tom M (Chaser 80) » Mon Aug 20, 2007 9:49 pm

Hey Kevin...You have to set it to 2 pole speed thats why u have such high readings speed wise....100kph+!!!

as far as direction offset goes, use this....I have mine pointing due south and have a direction offset of 90 degrees.....or -270 degs.....so if I had it pointing due east, Im fairly sure i would need no offset! :D
try here for any hints on WD settings and station setup stuff. http://www.weather-watch.com/smf/index.php
I use this forum the most http://www.weather-watch.com/smf/index. ... ,16.0.html

Are u using the temp readings from you wind sensor as your main station temp? Im guessing from your station pics/diagram and max temp readings you are.....if so that can be up to 5-8 degs hotter than the actual temp....can I suggest you use your indoor temp/hum sensor as the outside temp/hum, (simillar to one I am using) and build a stevenson screen maybe like this one http://www.loganvillageweather.com/stat ... enson.html and house it in there? I do actually have one simillar that I am not using I could give/lend u?

Regards Tom

Just joined & all I got is this lousy rank
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:59 pm

Postby southfreo » Tue Aug 21, 2007 6:46 am

Hi Tom,

Thanks, OK now changed the offset to -180 (It's facing due west) and type to 2-pole (and reset records!) and I'll monitor the results to see if it looks more accurate based on cloud movements and other stations. Also change to Plot 10 minute average to smooth out the readings. That sounds like a good suggestion on the temp readings, I may change this and add a barometric sensor (do you have one?) as the next "project" although it probably won't be for a while as I've spent way too much time fiddling with the camera currently.

Cheers

Kevin

WAWG Leadership Group
User avatar
Posts: 863
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Floreat

Postby Tom M (Chaser 80) » Tue Aug 21, 2007 4:55 pm

Oh man I know what u mean....WD takes foreva!

I have a baro from HB, but when I plug it in i get heaps of "no rain device, will reset" in the 1-wire rom ID page......Brian said that shouldnt be a drama, but i missed rain the other day, and relied on my trusty old normal rain gauge for the correct results, and changed it.

Also the baro has a temp sensor in it, so u can set that as your indoor temp :D where are u getting your outdoor humidity readings from ATM?

2 pole will be right, and yes the 10 min average looks much better....did you know with WD you can setup a WAP page for mobile phones? I have one....its waesome to know whats happening at home when u r out! :D (weather freak) :P

Your cam housing setup is f@#king FANTASTIC! love the idea of the old light, saves u having to build a water proof housing :)

Tom

Just joined & all I got is this lousy rank
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:59 pm

Postby southfreo » Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:18 pm

WD is calculator outdoor humidity automatically, I assume it's working out some sort of formulae based off the indoor sensor.

Yes adding the rainguage caused a few glitches with WD which Brian released a fix to address (Wild temp fluctuations).

Haven't tried WAP, I'm always near a PC so I use the site to keep updated.

The camera housing worked out well, it did take far more time than I originally planned for though :-)

Founder of The WAWG
User avatar
Posts: 3330
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:18 pm
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand

Postby Tim S » Thu Aug 23, 2007 8:56 am

Hey Southie, your temp seems a bit low of late, I noticed it got adjusted down around 5-6C a day or two back, is that a result of this adjustment you made for the wind speed?

Was great watching the front make it way over garden island on your cam yesterday by the way, made for a very distracting few hours at work! :) How often does it update, it seems to be every 5mins or so?
Kia Kaha, stay strong, live long and above all have fun. :)

Just joined & all I got is this lousy rank
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:59 pm

Postby southfreo » Thu Aug 23, 2007 2:52 pm

The temp looks OK, Haven't noticed a change since I changed the wind speed. Today's forcast is 9/19 and which is exactly the min/max recorded today so looks good to me.

The camera is very distracting I agree :-) The photos are taken every 2 mins during the day (white writing) and every one minute (yellow writing) round sunset to hopefully catch it in all it's glory. The image is uploaded to the website every 5 minutes.


I normally watch the last 2.5hrs movie which is at 10fps so you get good detail if anything is happening (bit stuttered though).

The only annoying thing it seems to go offline during the night sometimes which requires unplugging the usb cable and sometimes and power cycle. Once this is solved (Trying a scheduled reboot at 1AM tonight) I'm going to try to leave it alone for 5 days!

WAWG Leadership Group
User avatar
Posts: 863
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Floreat

Postby Tom M (Chaser 80) » Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:36 pm

Hey Kevin..Here are some pics of my station setup.
Stevenson screen, its mounted high (3m) so it receives good air flow...still get humidity readings over 95% up there.
http://www.tkup.net/pictures/stevensonscreen3.jpg
Inside screen
http://www.tkup.net/pictures/Insidestevensonscreen.jpeg
Rain gauge pics, and analog one for the backup....I mounted the tipping one on 2 pots, so I get no splash off the roof....Its on the roof due to tall trees to the N/W.
http://www.tkup.net/pictures/Tippingand ... ngauge.jpg
http://www.tkup.net/pictures/Insidetipp ... gauge.jpeg
http://www.tkup.net/pictures/insidetippingraingauge.jpg
annemometer pics
http://www.tkup.net/pictures/annemometermount.jpg
http://www.tkup.net/pictures/annemometer.jpg
http://www.tkup.net/pictures/guyropemount.jpg
random station pics
http://www.tkup.net/pictures/stationview.jpg
http://www.tkup.net/pictures/rainwindtemp.jpg

Sorry for the shit quality, phone pics!

Just joined & all I got is this lousy rank
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:59 pm

Postby southfreo » Sat Aug 25, 2007 7:21 pm

Hey Tom,

Excellent work on the weather equipment, That Stevennson screen is a piece of art! . Luckily I managed to get away with just bolting everything to the antennae. That must have taken many hours of thought and hard work to setup. My rain guage is exactly the same as yours, Good idea with the pots, this is how I made mine http://members.iinet.net.au/~kevinbruton/thisstation.html

Should be easy to add a high res camera to complete the setup!

Although I vowed to leave well enough alone, In a moment of Fremantle Dockers inspiration I redesigned the web site today for a much cleaner look and I think I've solved my camera going offline with a sneaky vbscript file (posted about that http://www.weather-watch.com/smf/index.php/topic,21797.180.html.

Hopefully this will satisfy the addiction for a while.

Cheers

Kevin

Return to Weather Links & Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests